2021-22 Faculty Highlights

Four faculty members will begin their appointments as assistant professors this academic year:

  • Rohit Bhattacharya, Computer Science
  • Brittany Meché, Environmental Studies
  • Keston Perry, Africana Studies
  • Alena Williams, Art

One faculty member has been promoted to the position of senior lecturer:

  • Derek Dean, Biology

Eight faculty members have been promoted to the position of associate professor with tenure:

  • Jeremy Cone, Psychology
  • Christine DeLucia, History
  • Matthew Gibson, Economics
  • Lama Nassif, Arabic Studies
  • Christina Simko, Sociology
  • Owen Thompson, Economics
  • Emily Vasiliauskas, English
  • Zachary Wadsworth, Music

Four faculty members have been promoted to full professorships:

  • Mea Cook, Geosciences
  • Justin Crowe, Political Science and Leadership Studies
  • David Gürçay-Morris, Theatre
  • Nate Kornell, Psychology and Cognitive Science

Fifteen faculty members have received new named chair positions:

  • Quamrul Ashraf is the Halvorsen Professor for Distinguished Teaching and Research of Economics
  • Duane Bailey is the A. Barton Hepburn Professor of Computer Science
  • Lois Banta is the Halvorsen Professor for Distinguished Teaching and Research of Biology
  • Antonia Foias is the Preston S. Parish ’41 Third Century Professor of Anthropology
  • Jennifer French is the Rosenburg Professor of Environmental Studies and Spanish
  • Amy Gehring ’94 is the Philip and Dorothy Schein Professor of Chemistry
  • Steven Gerrard is the Mark Hopkins Professor of Philosophy
  • Paul Karabinos is the Edna McConnell Clark Professor of Geology
  • Gretchen Long is the Frederick Rudolph ’42 – Class of 1965 Professor of American Culture
  • Lee Park is the William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Chemistry
  • Leyla Rouhi is the Mary A. and William Wirt Warren Professor of Romance Languages
  • Robert Savage is the Charles L. MacMillan Professor in Natural Sciences
  • Frederick Strauch is the William Edward McElfresh Professor of Physics
  • David Tucker Smith is the Halvorsen Professor for Distinguished Teaching and Research of Physics
  • Safa Zaki is the Class of 1924 Professor of Psychology